A happy commuter

Sunday, July 24, 2011 at 3:42 | Posted in Estonia, railways, tallinn, traffic | 2 Comments

The Tallinn commuter train service is just great. I live well outside the capital and do not visit it too often. It makes sense to buy a single ticket rather than having a monthly card.

I do not need to have cash with me on board. There is a card I can upload either money or travel time to. Debet card payments are not accepted on board but other than that, I am happy.

Last time I uploaded balance to my rail card, it did not work with Firefox. Chrome was the only of my options to work. Of course I complained in Twitter.

Uploading yesterday, I detected suddenly that there was no problem with Firefox. The Elektriraudtee have a Twitter account of their own and it seems they follow feedback as well. Not to mention their real time updates whenever something extraordinary happens.

There is also a wifi network on trains, allowing me to spend the 70-75 minute journey doing something useful on line. When the rails and trains get modernised there will not be very much to hope for.

I am a happy commuter.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. So there is still life in your anglophiliac blog. For me better than Estonian, but maybe I should start using Google translate. Safe commuting.

  2. Thanks, Geirsan!

    I started this post by writing a Google + update but since it got lengthier than I initially thought I decided to publish it in the blog as well. This was not the first time it happened. I have encountered the same with my other blogs.

    In fact, this is an interesting phenomenon which I shall continue to study closer. It looks like Google + is narrowing the gap between a traditional blog and micro blogging platforms. It is a developement I welcome as both medias can gain of it.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 557 other followers

