Technorati does not work

Friday, August 18, 2006 at 18:26 | Posted in Web tools | 12 Comments
Tags:

Frequent users of Technorati are familiar with this error message

Sorry

We couldn’t complete your search because we’re experiencing a high volume of requests right now. Please try again in a minute or two. We’re working hard to make our search results better. Thanks for your patience.

It is understandable per se that a server is occasionally busy. But this error message appears several times every single day. Moreover, I also tend to get it when trying to access my own account. It was not exactly a search I was trying to perform.

The more than occasional overload is one thing. What bugs me more than that, is that if Technorati is to be believed, I have not posted anything in this blog for the last 37 days. The last post reflected by Technorati is this one from 12th July. None of the 104 posts I have made since that exist, as far as Technorati is conserned. All of them have been binged to Technorati both automatically and manually.

My support request on 27th July, [Feedback] Error report #37751], is unanswered. What should I conclude? Maybe Technorati does not want me as their user.

I know it is a free service. But something which does not work is not a service, however free it may be.

Edit: Read also Tell me something I did not know

12 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I don’t seem to have that kind of Problem. Maybe it has to do with the fact that I ping technorati when I post a new entry.

  2. As I wrote, every single one of those 104 (now 105) posts has been pinged to Technorati. Some of my blogs (both WordPress and others) have no problem with Technorati while others seem to be ignored. Maybe they have just become too big to swallow all content.

  3. Maybe you’re posting too much for technorati? 😉

  4. Maybe that or I post the wrong kind of stuff. Or somebody just thinks that I am a terrorist. 😛

  5. See? You admit being a terrorist all by yourself. 😛

  6. Where did you see me admit that? Saying that somebody may think so does not suggest that I would agree.

  7. No need to deny that, THEY are already on your trail.

  8. Can’t be. Nobody has told me that I have the right to remain silent but anything I say can and will be used as evidence against me in a court of law. 🙂

  9. Don’t you know that suspected terrorists don’t have any rights at all?

  10. Ordnung herscht?

  11. Tell me something I did not know

    This looks far too familiar: Technorati is down. To be fair, every site needs to be down for maintenance occasionally. It is OK just as long as the site puts out a normal performance between the maintenance breaks.
    I have noticed for several months no…

  12. Larko, Technorati does totally suck. It doesn’t find all types of stuff and favors google bombers. You’re right, just hang in there. Sorry about that terrorist stuff. Hopefully you may have rights again soon.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

