It is rising

Sunday, January 14, 2007 at 7:55 | Posted in linux, video, webcam, youtube | 6 Comments
Tags:

As you may or may not remember, my Linux Ubuntu system collapsed a week ago as a result of my hopeless efforts to make my webcam act decently. I have been busy all this week installing and configuring software in order to be able to do whatever I want to do with my computer. I have now come to the point where I have all the programs I need more or less working the way they should.

I am happy to say that also the main reason to my problems, my brand new Logitech QuickCam Connect webcam more or less does now what it is supposed to do. While I received some very good advice, for which I am extremely grateful, I was unable to crack the last nut that would have allowed me to record video with Mplayer. However, that very advice helped me enough to understand how I could do it with VLC which is a very good package indeed.

I certainly need quite a lot of practice to improve the quality of my shots but at this point I am happy that I managed to make them at all. However, I am sad to say that YouTube managed to spoil what I did not. I tried to upload two short videos and record one with the on line quick capture feature but all three where totally broken when YouTube finally put them on line.

I did upload the two videos that I recorded locally to my own server. The quality is just slightly worse than on my hard drive. So what I need to do now is learn to use both the devise and software. Need just some more practice and then we shall be talking business. The test videos can be seen here and here.

Oh yes, the collapsed system is rising. In fact, it is already up and running.

Edit: I also tried to upload the shots to Google Video but the result was less than satisfactory. Apparently the uploading services need a better quality than that. Oddly enough, Google’s confirmation mail about a successful upload arrived when I had already deleted the video.

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Wouldn’t you say that the real cause for your problems is your OS (Linux) and not the QuickCam? An OS where you have to spend a week reconfiguring the computer doesn’t really sound like that good an idea.

  2. Maybe some people want to work with an OS that is adapted to their needs, without any software and code that should not be implemented in a modern OS which is used for worldwide communication.
    Logitech could make some drivers (for linux) for the cameras and their other hardware products or just release some more detailed information about the specifications. So that the free programmers all in the doesn’t have to develope like the “try-and-error way”.
    But Logitech cannot do that, they have (like any other company) hide their implementations and earn money. So we need opensource hardware…. hmm we are far away from freedom

  3. Could be anyone, you are absolutely right. Linux users have no choice but using closed source harware as there is not as yet open source harware available. It would not be a major cost for Logitech to release drivers for Linux and other open opsys and they would certainly earn the money back. Such a good will gesture would no doubt make their brand appeal look a lot better in the eyes of open source people. Instead, they choose to support only Win and Mac and let Linux people do the work themselves.

    Also, have you happened to look at their web site support forums? Even Mac and Win users tend to get utmost minimalistic and arrogant response to their problems. Logitech does certainly not appear as an enterprize that would appriciate consumer feedback.

    Geirsan, you turn the table around quite interestingly. It is obvious that I would use some other opsys if Linux did not exist and thus maybe not have the problem. My humble opinion is, though, that denying the problem is not a constructive way to go about it.

    Restoring the system took me an hour. I needed the week partly to get back all the other programs I had installed during two months and to make the webcam work. May I also remind that I have used Linux just for two months? Can you show me an average frershman Windows user who would be back in business with all programs installed and configured a week after hard drive formatting without consulting outside help other than Internet?

  4. I must laugh, but mostly at myself. Ignorance is bliss, lack of knowledge fool’s heaven. But it is true that I cannot show you a novice Windows user being back for weeks. In fact, not even Mac users can brag about that – and the fact is that I am a Mac user….
    What I am curious about though, is the comment from could_be_anyone:

    Maybe some people want to work with an OS that is adapted to their needs.

    .
    What kind of needs would that be? My question is not meant rethorically, it’s just that I am not into this way of using my computer. I’ve got a Mac, which I mostly know to my fingerpoints, being streamlined for my needs. All the bloatcode I just forget about and let rest in the doldrums of 1’s and 0’s.

  5. Since I am a Linux newbie, I could not give you a comrehensive answer. However, during my short time in Linux I have noticed that the freeware environment gives me a whole lot of flexibility and possibilities to taylor my system to suit my personal preferencies. Most of the problems are like mine with this webcam. Copyright issues do not allow Linux developers to use the most obvious resources, in particular concerning audio and video.

    There are a lot of graphical interfaces within Linux, it is not that different from Win and Mac. My system collapsed for the very reason that I was trying to configure my sound settings to make it possible for the Logitech webcam to work and I happened to enter some sudo commands in wrong order. None of this would have been necessary if Logitech had provided a couple of simple drivers or released their codes for developers.

  6. So nice to hear that you use MAC. It has a surpassing desktop environment and usability.
    One big example in which case you can adapt a linux/bsd operating system is you can install your linux without the Xserver (graphical environment server). On this server the famous desktop environment (kde, gnome, fluxbox…) can fit. So you can install rich-tool-operating-system without the graphical features. So you think now . But most of the graphical programs set up with these command line tools and they have great power. I like the tools “find, slocate, links2, ifconfig” e.g. and I often start programs from the command line (didn’t use the mouse to start it from a menu…)
    By the way MAC is also setup from a BSD. Look here: http://de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bild:Unix.png
    So you also have most of these tools in your command line (did you already find it). Try anyone out of yourself.
    could_be_anyone use gentoo-linux for 3 years.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

