Resistant webcam

Tuesday, January 23, 2007 at 11:52 | Posted in Personal | 3 Comments
Tags: ,

I have written quite a bit lately about all the trouble my Logitech QuickCam Connect has caused me. I do not know if I have underlined enough that the camera itself is very good. The only thing I am unhappy about is Logitech’s stubborn refusal to support open source platforms.

Now I have evidence that the camera is not only good, it is also resistant. I was just reaching for my coffee mug (in picture) and happened to fumble with the wires. The webcam unfortunately dropped right into the mug and made a dive into the coffee. As the picture proves, the camera was not damaged by the sudden dive. The in built michrophone also works as it is supposed to.

And yes, I do know that it is a bad idea to have coffee while working with a computer.

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Um I have had similar problems. I didn’t have problems with the spca5xx driver, but gspca has had issues with flash9 and linux, it doen’t work at all.

  2. The spca5xx driver is the only one to make this webcam work. I’ll have to see about flash9 as I just received an update.

  3. i’m no expert, but i’m pretty sure you mean “resilient” .. unless of course you were -trying- to get the camera to take a dip in the coffee and it simply kept refusing to swim!

    ūüėČ


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

