Note to myself about Ubuntu versions

Tuesday, February 13, 2007 at 5:09 | Posted in linux, Personal, ubuntu | 5 Comments

Just to support my memory, I am noting that Linux Ubuntu 6.06 is the same as dapper while 6.10 is edgy. I sometimes remember numbers better than words, in other cases vice versa. In case of Ubuntu, I always remember that I have 6.06 but my aging memory makes it impossible to remember which is which in verbal terms. Unfortunately, most support forum threads refer to the name without mentioning the number.

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. That’s unfortunate that people keep using the name (in forums and elsewhere). I’m as guilty as others of doing this.

    Officially the informal code name (Dapper, Edgy, etc) is supposed to be only use during development (and by Beta testers). At the moment it is officially released, that version of Ubuntu should only be known by its numerical version (6.06, 6.10, etc).

    In practice, people uses both naming conventions, and sometimes it gets confusing…

  2. Yes, I am not against using the verbal version as such. But it would obviously be best for everybody if both the nickname and the number were mentioned. Now I spent quite a lot of time to determin if a number of forum threads were relevant for me or not. I could have used the time for fixing my actual problem. 🙂

  3. Which has been solved, by the way. 😉

  4. I’ve not got a Ubuntu box to hand, but does /etc/issue not have both (eg, something along the lines of “Ubuntu 6.06 (Dapper Drake)”?

  5. No, mine says “Ubuntu 6.06.1 LTS \n \l”.

    And even if it did, I’ll find the information easier in this post than browsing files. Now that it is posted here, I can refer to the info even when using somebody else’s computer.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

