Happy Easter

Sunday, April 8, 2007 at 11:09 | Posted in Personal | 2 Comments

As I wrote last night, I watched the orthodox Easter service in the Finnish TV to respect the memory of my late father. I do not believe myself but I watched it to remember my father who was a good dude. The ceremony was beautiful as always.

They even said some prayers in Estonian which was news for me. They also used a number of other languages. Everybody attending the service in the Uspenski Cathedral in Helsinki must have felt welcome. The whole show exposed tolerance and it looked like the church was happy to accept people as they are. Being a non believer, I was pleasantly surprised by the happy atmosphere in the cathedral.

Another pleasant surprise was that my good friend Peter took up the topic. He is almost at my age and remembers the wisdom of his own father although his life at present is not identical with those old times. We do indeed go together with our time but remembering what our fathers said to us gives some perspective into our lives.

I bet my father would have been happy if he had the chance to meet Peter’s father. My father spoke German fluently and I suspect those two gentlemen would have found plenty of common ground. They did raise two sons that have a similar sense of humor.

So when an orthodox priest says in Estonian that “Jeesus Kristus on üles tõusnud”, I do not believe in the statement but I appreciate that it has been made. Whether you believe or not, I wish you a happy Easter. A specially happy Easter to everybody in Heidelberg. 😉

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Iloista pääsiäistä! 🙂

  2. Danke. 😉


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

