Ice-hockey World Champ culminating

Friday, May 11, 2007 at 13:23 | Posted in Ice hockey, Sports | Leave a comment

Due to the unfortunate mishap caused by my ISP, I am able to write less about the ice-hockey World Champ tornament than I would like to. Just to put it briefly, I am not at all surprised that Russia, Canada, Sweden and Finland are the four teams left in the final two rounds of the tournament. These are the four best teams, no doubt about that.

Last night’s game between USA and Finland was a hair raising thriller. It was good enough for me to make a rare decision of giving up my weekly sauna. I feel a bit sorry for the American team. Shooting penalties is not the best way to settle a game with so much importance but since it went to that, the deciding goal by Jere Lehtinen was brilliant.

Need I say I am happy about the outcome? The Finnish team has an even bigger game tomorrow. Meeting Russia in the afternoon provides Finland a chance to pay back for the 5-4 defeat in the first round.

My dream about a final game between Finland and Sweden is still alive. By the way, Jere Lehtinen played in World Champs last in 1995. We all know who were the champs back then. ūüėČ

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

