How could I manage without Automatix?

Saturday, June 2, 2007 at 2:21 | Posted in linux, ubuntu | 2 Comments
Tags:

As I wrote yesterday, I installed Ubuntu 7.04 in my new laptop. I was expecting quite a lot of configuring to be done. Getting all audio and video bells and whisles tuned up is quite an enterprice. Luckily I disovered that Automatix has been available for Ubuntu for a while already.

If Automatix did not exist, it should immediately be invented. I’ll let them speak for themselves rather than try to describe it myself:

 

Automatix2 is a free graphical package manager for the installation, uninstallation and configuration of the most commonly requested applications in Debian based Linux operating systems. Currently supported are Ubuntu 7.04, 6.10, 6.06, Debian Etch and Mepis 6.

I would call the above a modest way to put it. Just about everything you would want is available and quite a lot of goodies in addition to that. The installation is amazingly easy: You just dowload the .deb file and double click it, that’s all. The file for Ubuntu 7.04 Feisty i386 is here, links to other distros here.

After the install, Automatix appears in Applications/System Tools. You just run it and select what you want to get and Automatix will then make honor for its name and take care of the installations. Some programmes do, however, require user input as licenses need to be accepted.

Just about everything of importance is available. Web browsers with plugins, audio and video players and editing tools, messengers, Google Earth, the lot of it. I entered a large tray of my wishes to Automatix about an hour ago and it is in the process of fulfilling them. Approximately 75 % of the work is done at the moment. Not bad considering that I needed about a week to get all that stuff to 6.06 in January as I needed to make a fresh install after a self inflected system collapse.

I honestly do not know how I was able to get along without Automatix. That is of course not important at all. What matters is that from now on I do not need to.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. […] partition. I have no idea how this happened. It must have been something in the load of packages I picked up with Automatix the other […]

  2. […] am I seeing this? A while ago I wrote about Automatix which is a “graphical package manager for the installation, uninstallation […]


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

