Better late than never

Saturday, July 7, 2007 at 5:29 | Posted in Communities and cool stuff, internet | Leave a comment

I just received a comment in my Multiply community blog from a good on line buddy. She regretted for being late to post the comment. It was posted about 24 hours after I made the original entry.

Come on, folks! Is 24 hours after such a long time that you would be late if you fail to comment earlier? Whatever is posted in the Internet these days has a tendency to stay there whether we want or not. Even if you delete a post it is bound to have been recorded in a virtual archive somewhere.

I do not support the idea of being accessible on a 24/7 basis. I do not have a cell phone for 18 months and I find I have gained for not being able to be interrupted by somebody who thinks they need to talk to me right now. The only phone service I have is my Skype account and I usually just check in a couple of times a day to see if I have gotten any messages. I’ll call back if need be.

I sometimes receive comments on my blog posts made as far back as 6-7 years ago. That is when I kicked off my first blogs. Some of those comments are a bit annoying since the commenters have not read the date and clock stamp and tend to point out that the facts stated in my posts are untrue, not taking into account that they were true at the date of the post. But it is mostly refreshing to get feedback behind the time barrier. One would like to make posts that have value far beyond the 24 hour limit.

So there is no such thing as a comment posted late in my blogs. If you think you still want to make a point on an old post, be my guest and go ahead. But please do check out the date stamp before saying that my facts are wrong.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

