Another Ubuntu version coming

Monday, September 3, 2007 at 20:17 | Posted in linux, ubuntu | 4 Comments

While I am still looking forward to upgrading my Ubuntu 7.04 (Feisty Fawn) to Ubuntu 7.10 (Gutsy Gibbon), expected to be released 18th October, Jono Bacon has already announced the release of the version after Gutsy. It is going to be Ubuntu 8.04 (Hardy Heron). Heron is expected to be ready in April 2008. It is going to be a Long Term Support (LTS) version and will be supported with security updates for five years on the server and three years on the desktop.

Time sure flies fast. The latest LTS is Ubuntu 6.06 (Dapper Drake, supported till 2009) which feels like obsolete already when compared to 7.04 which I have running in my laptop.

via Suzan

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Ubuntu is a very good operating system. But at the moment, there isn’t a good speech recognition software available working under Linux. So for the moment, I have to stick to Windows XP.

  2. I use the Win XP partition of my laptop for some purposes, mostly related to using my webcam. The webcam works under Ubuntu but using it is much easier in Windows. Also, Skype does not have some essential features in Linux.

  3. What I am wondering after trying Ubuntu 7.04 on my Macbook is why do people compromise the esthetical side of computing for efficiency? Ubunty did not impress me by it’s design, and under the hood all computers are just that: computers…

  4. Design is of course a matter of taste and how much importance you place on design is also a matter of taste. I have gotten used to the Ubuntu interface so I feel somewhat lost each time I boot the Windows partition.

    The most important reason for me to have switched to Linux is the free source code and the great community behind it. I do make compromises for my convenience by using Win for limited tasks but I have a good reason to believe that those compromises are going to be less after each new Ubuntu release.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

