Video posting button and other Vodpod goodies

Saturday, September 8, 2007 at 6:05 | Posted in Blogosphere, gadgets, internet, linux, ubuntu, video, Web tools, WordPress | 4 Comments
Tags:

On The Air TV reminds me of what I discovered yesterday about Vodpod’s video posting button which can be installed as a Firefox extension and used for posting in WordPress blogs. The button as such is cool and works perfectly. I tested it to make a post in my Finnish blog. It has hitherto only been possible to post videos hosted by YouTube, Google or Dailymotion in WordPress.com but this button practically opens all borders.

However, I have not been able to discover a way to install this gadget to Firefox under Linux Ubuntu. I am sure somebody will soon enough invent a way to do it if it does not exist already. I am now able to use the button only in my Windows partition which is not bad when I work with my own footage. There are several reasons for me to work with my videos under Windows. But if I detect a clip while doing my regular work under Ubuntu, it would have to be damned good if I wanted to re-boot.

Fortunately, though, I am not totally dependent on that button. I registered to Vodpod and soon enough detected that I can collect footage from just about anywhere, both my own and that of others, and store it at Vodpod. And even more importantly, I was able to store the URL’s of my blogs in WordPress.com, my user ID and password to make automated posts from the Vodpod interface to my blogs.

This means that I do not necessarily have to re-boot to Windows as I can post footage hosted anywhere to my WordPress blogs regardless of the button. So I just need to log in to my Vodpod account to collect a clip hosted, let us say by On The Air TV, and post it right here. And it appears here as a clip hosted by On The Air TV.

That, ladies and gentlemen, is cool.

Edit: I was able to install the button after upgrading to Ubuntu 7.10.

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. […] am ever going to become as famous and as much quoted by the World media as he is. Yesterday morning I wrote about the Firefox video posting button and other goodies of Vodpod. Having explored the bells and […]

  2. Hi there, sorry to hear that the WordPress button wasn’t working under Linux. We tested in Linux and the button should work there. You can also try installing the Vodpod-specific button now that you’ve got a vodpod account.

    Can you tell me what went wrong? Did the install fail or did the button not show up? One issue we’ve seen is that you install the extension but the button doesn’t show up. In that case you can select View -> Tools -> Customize, then find the button in the set of available ones and drag it to your toolbar.

    –scott
    vodpod.com

  3. If I knew exactly what does not work I would have fixed it. But the basic issue seems to be that Ubuntu does not allow automatic install of add-ons to Firefox. This is not a bug but a feature of Ubuntu. There would have to be a way to install the button through terminal if it was to work. But as I said, this is no big deal because I can use the autopost feature to WordPress and it works just fine.

  4. i’m eric. joining a couple boards and looking
    forward to participating. hehe unless i get
    too distracted!

    eric


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

