Unable to upgrade to Ubuntu 7.10

Saturday, October 20, 2007 at 8:13 | Posted in computer, linux, ubuntu | 20 Comments
Tags: ,

I have tried to upgrade from Ubuntu 7.04 to 7.10 for a couple of days now but have so far not succeeded in doing so. First I thought it was the crowded servers but now during early morning hours here in Europe, the upgrade proceeded considerably faster than hitherto but hooked up at exactly the same point as before. The upgrade does not go further than fetching the files because three files can apparently not be found. The error message (the same every time) says:

Failed to fetch http://wine.lowvoice.nl/apt/dists/feisty/Release.gpg Could not resolve ‘wine.lowvoice.nl’
Failed to fetch http://wine.lowvoice.nl/apt/dists/feisty/main/i18n/Translation-en_US.bz2 Could not resolve ‘wine.lowvoice.nl’
Failed to fetch http://wine.lowvoice.nl/apt/dists/feisty/main/binary-i386/Packages.gz Could not resolve ‘wine.lowvoice.nl’

I do not get it. There is nothing wrong with the network connection at my end. Also, the repository wine.lowvoice.nl is opted for as this screen shot shows:

I am less than enthusiastic about the prospective of having to make a clean install. While my important files are all in the web, there is quite a lot of software and personal installations which I am not too eager to start from scratch. Nevertheless, I have no idea as to what I could possibly do other than a clean install.

20 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Try open /etc/apt/sources.list, then remove those entries mentioned in error log.
    Or just put # in front of them.

  2. Thanks a million, Brenx! That did the trick. And as obvious as it may have been, I would probably never have thought of it myself.😉

  3. Spiff!, this solved my problem too. I had a feeling Automatix was causing the problem (has in the past with various things) but didn’t realize the repo http://wine.lowvoice.nl/apt/dists/feisty/Release.gpg was associated with it.

  4. As far as Automatix is concerned, I needed to re-install it after the upgrade. The upgrade brings over a version that only runs under Ubunto 7.04.

  5. Thanks guys! This helped me and I’m sure many others. I guess we shouldn’t be so naughty as to use Automatix.

  6. That is the beauty of Linux community and Internet. I made the post because I did not know what to do. I got help within hours and now all those hits to this post prove that several others have the same problem and get the help they need.

    As for Automatix, it may not be quite kosher but it does make my life somewhat easier.

  7. This is exactly what I was having troubles with too. Thanks for the help!

  8. Hi, I also had trouble with this. Thanks for all your help guys.

  9. hey i went to /etc/apt/sources.list but i didnt find the entries..this is the same problem thats wrong with me..anyone know why?

  10. Neal, another place you could look at is Synaptic Package Manager/Settings/Repositories/Third-Party Software

  11. Thanks guys. Appreciate your help.

  12. Awesome! I had the same problem and used the same solution listed above. Thanks!

  13. Rock on! It was third-party software for me. Thank you, I appreciate all of the tips on this page!

  14. i had the same problem. i knew i should try get the packages from another source but didnt know how/where to modify my source list. thanks for the help

  15. Thank you for the info about editing the lines with the #. now I managed the upgrade.

  16. this is very cool – i have been pestered by that very same message for weeks and in seconds of finding this site got it all taken cared of – way cool. SURE MADE MY DAY
    THANKS and HAPPY HOLIDAYS FOLKS

  17. Thankyou Larko and brenx!

  18. we always keep searching for something which solves the problem… and thts whr problem begins.. we never think of why is it happening?

    the answer is never ahead.. its most of the times something we’ve left behind..

    nice post. it helped me too🙂 thx a lot author.

  19. Hi guys. I think i Have some sort of same problem. I have ubuntu 6.10 and i want to upgrade it to 7.04 but the following problems appear:
    Failed to fetch http://medibuntu.sos-sts.com/repo/dists/edgy/free/binary-i386/Packages.gz 302 Found
    Failed to fetch http://medibuntu.sos-sts.com/repo/dists/edgy/non-free/binary-i386/Packages.gz 302 Found
    Failed to fetch http://medibuntu.sos-sts.com/repo/dists/edgy/free/source/Sources.gz 302 Found
    Failed to fetch http://medibuntu.sos-sts.com/repo/dists/edgy/non-free/source/Sources.gz 302 Found

    Can anyone help?

  20. Kamenos, maybe putting a # in front of those entries in /etc/apt/sources.list would help?


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

