A nostalgic piece of music

Sunday, November 25, 2007 at 22:20 | Posted in Germany, History, literature, music, Nostalgy, Sweden | Leave a comment

During this weekend I have heard this nostalgic piece of music for several times. I even made an image composition of my own of it. Ladies and gentlemen, may I offer you the national anthem of former East Germany?

The book coverI did not do it just because I am having one of those particularly bizarre moods. It matches well with Jan Kallberg’s oven fresh book Så sänkte jag Sovjetunionen and is even recommended to be listened while reading the book.

I got my copy on Friday but I have so far only read about a quarter of the 700 page novel which deals with the historical collapse of the Soviet empire but is equally targeted at the Swedish society as it was during the decades of social democratic rule.

While I am certainly not going to express my definitive opinion about Jan’s book before finishing it, I can already say that it was quite a while since I had so fun reading a book. It keeps reminding me of what I had to live through while living in Sweden in early 1980’ies. I also did quite a bit of touring in the East European countries under communist rule during the three last decades of the Soviet empire.

I certainly hope this book is going to be translated at least into English, preferably also to Eastern European languages.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

