Hypocritical rating

Sunday, December 2, 2007 at 23:46 | Posted in Blogosphere, gadgets, Web tools | Leave a comment

online dating

Baltimore Dating

I found this so called rating tool in Kristjan’s post.

What can I say about the outcome? I do not target my blog to children. I assume that readers are adult although I rarely or never specifically post what could be regarded as adult material. That said, I use liberal language whenever I feel like it. I can write “fuck” if it happens to fit the context of my post.

What makes this rating interesting is the motivation provided. The robot scanned the word “rape” on three occasions, “hell” on two and “punch” on one occasion. So they flag me without checking the context where those words appear. And I do not happen to regard those words as such that their appearance in a blog would require parental guidance.

My conclusion is that the rating is based on hypocrisy. Cultural differences may also play a part. I acknowledge that many words and expressions can be heard in radio and TV here that would be beeped away in most English speaking countries.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

