Enlargement of Schengen area takes effect

Monday, December 17, 2007 at 10:27 | Posted in eu | 1 Comment

The Schengen area is going to be enlarged with another nine countries on 21st December 2007. On Friday Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, Czech Republic, Slovakia, Hungary, Slovenia and Malta are to join the single visa area of hitherto 30 countries. Systematic border controls for travellers within the member countries are abolished.

Personally, I expect disembarking ships in the harbors of Tallinn and Helsinki to be faster.

Here is a Reuters news clip on the topic.

Vodpod videos no longer available. from www.reuters.com posted with vodpod


1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I personally attended the opening event in Valga: http://q-funk.blogspot.com/2007/12/valga-valka-1-linn-2-riiki-1-pilsta-2.html

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

%d bloggers like this: