Against Blair’s presidency but without petition

Wednesday, February 6, 2008 at 18:18 | Posted in democracy, eu, internet, web 2.0. | 4 Comments
Tags: ,

I almost never sign a web petition, no matter whether I like the idea behind a particular petition or not. Web petitions do not echo the opinion of the general public, they just reflect who is able to generate more web traffic for (or against) a cause than somebody else. Petitions are seldom written so that I could support every word in them: people can often reach same conclusions for totally different reasons.

Also, I do not believe that the intended recipients of web petitions take them as an expressed opinion of the exact number of persons that appear to have signed a petition. There is seldom any convincing authentication of signatures. Open-ID could be used more often than it is used but would the organizers of petitions really be interested in proving that the signatures in their petition are real?

I am not at all enthusiastic about the perspective of having Tony Blair as the president of EU. He made a long career as the PM of Britain but I think that most of his outstanding achievements happened during his first term. I also think that the best thing he could have done would have been to step down rather a year before than a year after the latest election in Britain.

If somebody wants to boost their web ego by collecting a million signatures to this web petition that is fine with me. Only, they will have to do it without my signature. I find that just stating that I am against Tony Blair as the president of EU makes more sense than signing that petition.

Besides, I do not even regard Blair’s ingagement for the Iraq war as the most important reason for having somebody else as the president.

via Margaret Marks

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Hmm, as a chain smoker I might even consider supporting the “dark arts” candidacy of Mr. Juncker.🙂

  2. “I find that just stating that I am against Tony Blair as the president of EU makes more sense than signing that petition.”

    But will it achieve anything? If this petition gets enough people to sign, at least it influences the public discourse and makes people aware of what’s going on.

  3. I thought I made it clear that I do not believe a petition has a practical influence on anything. At least it is certain that the petition would not gain anything if I signed it, neither does it loose anything because I do not.

    I do not have too much confidence on what my blog posts may or may not achieve. At least you read it, obviously. What makes it sensible for me to express my opinion in my blog rather than signing a petition is that the few people who appreciate my opinion are much more likely to read my blog than take notice of my signature in a petition. At the end of the day, I think X million single blog posts have a greater influence than a single petition with X million signatures.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

