In anticipation of Ubuntu 8.04

Tuesday, March 25, 2008 at 16:12 | Posted in computer, linux, ubuntu | Leave a comment
Tags:

In anticipation of Ubuntu 8.04 to be released on 24th April I just completed three consecutive system upgrades. My laptop was ready for the upgrade next month for ages ago but my desktop this morning still ran under 6.06 which is why I first had to upgrade to 6.10, then to 7.04 and finally to 7.10. The operation took about five hours.

The first upgrade to 6.10 presented minor problems. I had to comment some entries in /etc/apt/sources.list and run the upgrade again. Once I had pulled it through I did not uncomment those entries until 7.10 was up and running. Hence the upgrades from 6.10 onwards went smooth albeit the speed could have been faster.

So far everything is fine. All my data and settings have been imported. Just cannot wait to upgrade both desktop and laptop to 8.04.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

