Finally wireless in Ubuntu!

Monday, June 9, 2008 at 4:21 | Posted in computer, linux, ubuntu, wifi | 2 Comments
Tags: ,

Ever since I bought my laptop for a year ago I have only been able to connect to wifi under my Windows partition. Just once last autumn I managed to get wireless access in my hotel room in Tallinn as I accidentally booted to Ubuntu but I have never since managed to repeat the trick. I think my laptop was running under Ubuntu 7.10 at the time. I now have 8.04 Hardy Heron.

I understood as much as it must be one of those driver issues. I have a Broadcom BCM4311 wlan card which would apparently require some restricted firmware to be imported for the driver to work. Although I prefer to do most of my work under Ubuntu as opposed to Windows XP, I have never bothered to find out the steps to solve the problem. That is until now as I installed a wifi network at home last week.

I found a good how to here whereby I had to peek here for an alternative set of commands for step 2. Step 2b turned out to be the right option for me.

Having done all the steps and hence replaced the firm driver with ndiswrapper I rebooted and connected to my own wireless network. I am posting this entry wireless and everything works just fine. One less reason to have a Windows partition in my laptop!🙂

By the way, my wifi network (actually three of them) is another story to be told separately. I have a free wifi router, courtesy of Wippies, in exchange for pledging to maintain a separate open wifi network to be accessed free by other Wippies members. I am committed to maintaining the visitor network for at least a year and I also get free access to other members’ networks which I have already taken advantage of.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. […] Seoses wifihipindusega sai öösel sĂĽlearvuti Ubuntupartitsioonile ndiswrapperi draiver paigutatud ja nĂĽĂĽd töötab mu kodune wifivõrk suurepäraselt ka Ubuntu all. Kuna aga igat asja tuleb […]

  2. […] I bought a wireless card with USB access to enable using my home wifi network on my desktop computer. There are directions in detail on how to make it work under Linux but the […]


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

