A long football night

Monday, June 16, 2008 at 23:20 | Posted in computer, Euro-2008, football, Sports, TV, ubuntu | 2 Comments

Ballack just scored and a fine goal it was. I would obviously be happy if no more goals were scored.🙂

The first half offered little to be seen. Gomez was unfortunate with the ball just bouncing high as he had an open goal at sight. The ball is round as they say.

I did not see what happened with the coaches as I was in the kitchen fetching more coffee. Maybne they were discussing the Anschluss of 1938 as I suggested in Thomas’s live post.

I am going to have a long TV night since, unlike yesterday, I am unable to watch both games in parallel. I did that by watching one game through the Estonian TV and the other from live streaming of the Finnish TV. Can’t do that today.

I suffered another significant computer mishap this morning apart from my laptop being unaccessible for a week. As I was trying to fix a driver bug with my wireless USB adapter, the system crashed and since I urgently needed web access, I decided to make a clean install to my desktop. Unfortunately I just had an Ubuntu 6.06 install CD at hand so it is going to be a long way until I have upgraded back to 8.04 and re-installed all softwear, including everything to make video watchable. No data was lost, though, since I have all of it backed up in the web. Which would make it a good idea to buy a disk tomorrow and make another clean install direct to Ubuntu 8.04 rather than upgrading through all the versions in between.

Meanwhile I am going to watch Poland vs. Croatia on tape through the Estonian TV so please do not tell me the result during a couple of hours after Germany vs. Austria.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Point 1: Get a Mac.
    Point 2: Why coffee?

    Geir

  2. As to point 1: Mac is fine per se but far out of my reach for at least a while. And I like the open source idea. 8.04 is very likely to make most of my devices work from the box. I am planning to write a more substantial account of what happened and why but I must first issue the problem at hand (and watch some football).😉

    As to point 2: I just woke up before the game. I only have beer for breakfast if I am hung over (or still drunk).


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

