Moni has integrity

Tuesday, March 28, 2006 at 9:03 | Posted in Bloggers' rights, Blogosphere, Freedom of speech, Germany | 3 Comments
Tags: ,

This is how Dave Winer defined the term integrity for five years ago:

"Like a boat, a human being has integrity if he or she is what he or she appears to be. That's why integrity commands us to disclose conflicts, so that what we say, and who we appear to be, are in synch. Change the appearance if necessary."

I understand this as a strong recommendation to declare any circumstances that might affect or appear to affect our credibility. If you volunteerily declare any interests or absence of them, there is nothing to be digged up by watchdogs, journalists, fellow bloggers or by whoever. It is much worse if something pops up that you "forgot" to mention on your own initiative.

Moni declares her interests or absence of interests transparently and all by herself. She does it here and here. She tells that she once applied for a job at TI-D but she assures that she is not "out to get them" because she did not get the job. She also discloses the offers of money she has received to support her defense. She says thanks but no thanks as long as she does not have to pay out any money. When that time comes, she will open a separate and transparent account controlled by somebody else.

I believe Moni. I believe her because I find her to be what she appears to be. I find her to have integrity. She is what TI-D would like to appear but fails to convince us that they are.

Moni has integrity. TI-D has not.

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. […] Moni steht sicherlich nicht alleine … I believe Moni. I believe her because I find her to be what she appears to be. I find her to have integrity. She is what TI-D would like to appear but fails to convince us that they are.(larko) […]

  2. Hi Larko,
    thanks so much!
    There is now a translation of the entire original posting .

  3. I saw that, Moni, and was actually going to link to it. Now that you posted the link, is done already. Thank you! 🙂

    This must have been quite an experience for you. I hope we have seen the worse of it by now. The sad thing is that what happened to you, happens all the time to people allover the World and many of the victims are too scared to stand up for their rights and thus comply.

    I am happy to have been a part of the info chain but of course I wish it would never have been necessary.


Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.