Political Compass revisited

Saturday, February 26, 2011 at 21:49 | Posted in entertainment, Politics, web tests | Leave a comment
Tags:

Last time I did the Political Compass Test was a bit more than three years ago. This is the result I got back then, together with coordinates of then US presidential candidates:

I did the test again today with a somewhat different result:

It looks like I have become a bit more libertarian (a slide from -6,82 to -7,18) and quite a bit more left-leaning (from -3,50 to -5,38). What has happened in the mean time, one might wonder. Have I changed or has the World around me changed?

Probably both. I do not remember how I answered the individual questions last time but my basic values have certainly not changed as much as the result might indicate. I have certainly gained a few years worth of experience which may have contributed that I have put those questions in a different context than three years ago. Then again, the World has also taken a few steps ahead from that time.

The more I see various governments trying to regulate life of citizens, the less I tend to trust them. That would explain the slight shift towards a libertarian direction. The left slide is a bit more difficult to understand. Maybe it is that the economic crisis was not exactly caused by too much of governmental regulation of the market but rather by lack of it. While I trust governments less than I used to, I definitely also trust corporate businesses much less. When the economy was booming, they did not want the governments around but as soon as they fucked up the economy, they cried for the governments to bail them out.

As always, I regard this sort of tests as entertainment  rather than science. Also, some of the questions were not very accurate and the difference between agree/disagree and strongly agree/strongly disagree is not very big.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.